Taking advantage of marriage

Being married is like getting to cheat on every single exam by working with a partner.

 

 

I suggest you find someone who’s good at math.

This entry was posted in marriage. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Taking advantage of marriage

  1. Jaimie says:

    Yes, I’ve definitely considered the benefits of having someone who is forced to listen to all my writing conundrums. However, there would be a lot of distractions too. Writing less. I think the positives and negatives would balance out. Right now, I just make my friends listen to my writing conundrums. But I don’t overburden the friends. I spread the love. Poor friends. I would also suggest making friends with a lawyer.

    • Monica says:

      Writing less… true. Being less prone to depression is also true, though. (That is, if you marry someone who isn’t.) The second always fueled the first for me, though.

      Also, it may mean bonus points for you when he helps with your math test, but you’re now sharing the burden of his underdeveloped writing muscle.

      I have so much to say about marriage, and I am sincerely motivated by your cynicism (yes, I’m calling it that).

      And lawyers. We are definitely missing a couple of really good lawyer friends. (Notice the “we”… double the network, you see. Think of it!)

      • Jaimie says:

        Not depressed. Anxious! ANXIOUS. And I think that would be there with or without a spouse.

        You can call it cynicism. It is.

      • Jaimie says:

        (I feel like I have to explain the “anxious” statement. I took Lexapro for GAD not depression.)

        • Monica says:

          Well, for me it was depression. I never took anything for it though. I have a hard time wrapping my mind around taking drugs for such things (not that I’m opposed to it).

          I think with the right co-conspirator, you could realize a depletion in your anxiety. But you probably hate it when people tell you that, so I won’t. Besides, getting married doesn’t solve problems; it magnifies them. I have found, though, that the magnification of my issues — exposing the wounds — has helped me to properly understand, diagnose, and address them.

Leave a Reply

