Promises I’m not making

I will not promise to post every day or every week. You are not allowed to get mad at me if I do not post “often enough” (whatever that means). Sometimes I might do a marathon of posts, though. I don’t care if that’s not suggested by mega blog wizards. I hate scheduling posts. It doesn’t seem quite genuine to me.

I will not promise to post pictures. Ever. I probably will occasionally. Maybe. Remind me one day to tell you about why I’m not into picture-posting.

I will not promise to make you feel good. I firmly believe that our culture has developed an unhealthy and unconstructive attitude toward criticism. We can’t fix what we don’t know is broken.

I will not promise to keep all of your comments. I have no problem with dissenting comments, even if you have no idea what you’re talking about, but comments of a derogatory, disrespectful, distasteful, or unhealthy nature will be deleted (unless I choose to allow everyone to see a rude reader’s true colors). Anonymous comments will be carefully monitored. Wise readers know that anonymous comments include IP addresses that can be tracked.

What I do promise is to tell you the truth as I know it. Though I consider some matters of life to be private, I know and appreciate the value of sharing good and bad, joys and tears, with others.

Let’s see what happens, shall we?

This entry was posted in about me and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

